Meetings/2011-03-16

From Wikimedia Canada
Jump to: navigation, search
Province [1] Time zone
British Columbia 20:30 PST
Alberta 21:30 MST
Saskatchewan 22:30 CST
Manitoba 22:30 CST
Ontario, Quebec 23:30 EST
New Brunswick, Nova Scotia,
Prince Edward Island
00:30 AST
Newfoundland and Labrador 01:00 NST
Next

Minutes (Board meeting)[edit]

  • Date: 2011 March 16, 19:15 EDT
  • Location: Teleconference
  • In attendance:
    • Board members:
      1. Zana Gordon
      2. James Heilman
      3. Alan Walker
      4. Jeffery Nichols
      5. Bonoit Rochon
      6. Ray Saintonge
    • Observers:
      1. Prosenjit Lahiry

Text of minutes[edit]

Status update on RBC bank account[edit]

  • James Heilman reported:
    • Wiki Canada now has an RBC account and a PayPal account.
    • There is now $200 in the PayPal account.
    • The board of directors must pass an official resolution to authorize the bank account.
    • The account currently requires Alan Walker and James Heilman to cosign any transactions.
    • Alan currently has complete control over the PayPal account, who should have access must be discussed and access rights granted.

Status update on bylaw submission to Industry Canada[edit]

  • Alan Walker and Prosenjit Lahiry reported:
    • A letter has been sent to Industry Canada to inform them of the new bylaws.
    • We must determine whether the documents submitted to Industry Canada are the articles of incorporation or the bylaws. The bylaws should be changeable without involving Industry Canada.
    • Prosenjit Lahiry will find out which documents Industry Canada has.

Discussion of the charitable status application[edit]

  • Prosenjit Lahiry reported:
    • We need personal info of the board members for the application.
    • We forecasted a $45,000 budget because we want to look reasonably professional.
    • We must follow the 80–20 rule of charity spending.
    • The three new directors must be added to the document.
    • It might take 5–9 months, so we will not wait until Wikimedia Foundation approval of chapter status.
    • For the Canada Revenue Agency, Wiki Canada will be in the "other" category.
  • James Heilman motioned to work towards charitable status before approval of chapter status from the Wikimedia Foundation.
    • Seconded by Alan Walker.
    • Unanimous agreement.
    • Motion passed.
  • Alan Walker motioned to switch Wiki Canada to the new Canada Corporation Act immediately rather than waiting until the deadline to switch.
    • Seconded by James Heilman.
    • Unanimous agreement.
    • Motion passed.

Other business[edit]

  • Alan Walker motioned to allow the Wiki Canada secretary to review membership process for the collection of information, registration, and collection of dues. The secretary would also be empowered to make a privacy policy for that information. The secretary would participate in the process to make sure that money will be well used.
    • Seconded by James Heilman.
    • Unanimous agreement.
    • Motion passed.
  • Alan Walker motioned to make Prosenjit Lahiry the legal counsel of Wiki Canada.
    • Seconded by Zana Gordon.
    • Unanimous agreement.
    • Motion passed.
  • It was noted that we might have to make the names and address of members public.
    • Prosenjit Lahiry reported that we will need to disclose the name and address of people on the membership list to anyone who asks.
    • Action: Jeffery Nichols and Ray Saintonge agreed to draft a privacy policy before the next meeting.
    • Please note that the provinces in this table are for guidance only, since some have two time zones (e.g., The Magdalen Islands and the south-eastern part of British Columbia are not in the same time zone as their provinces). Please refer to your time zone instead of your province.